Last Updated on August 1, 2020
Getting Rid of Duplicates
Google+ is essentially dead as a social media platform. But as it is part of the Google world, that doesn’t mean you can just forget about it. If your customers can find their way onto your Google+ page then you need to make sure it has the correct information on it, and adequately represents your brand. Recently a client asked for our help cleaning up their Google+ profile because they, as it seems many companies do, had several different ones. So here are the notes we provided to them on how to get your Google+ tidied up.Ready to Talk?
Firstly let’s start with the basics. Google+ accounts are created when you take three actions:
1. G+ General – Each Gmail account is attached to a user whom also has a personal G+ account. When the original company email address for Gmail was created the associated G+ account was also created. So, there will be a Google+ account for email@example.com or whichever was the first email account created. This account will be accessible most easily
2. G+ Brand – When Google My Business was established, a new G+ profile for your company will have been created as a Brand Account to represent the company following Google’s guidelines. So if someone clicks on your GMB they can eventually find their way to this Google+ account.
3. G+ Local – Each time you add or claim a new location within Google Maps, a new local Google+ page is created for that specific location. So, if your company has multiple locations you may also have multiple Google+ pages. However, to simplify management and user experience, Google now allows the merging of G+ Brand and Local+ Pages.
So, if your company has two locations, you could have as many as 4 separate Google+ accounts live and (most likely) incomplete.
Merging G+ Brand & Local Page
In addition to having a single platform to publish updates to your audience, it is recommended to merge G+ Brand & Local Pages. From our research, it seems that Google+ Local pages get better results in search than Brand pages. So that should be the master page.
Only the owner of an Account can initiate the consolidation. So you will need to make sure you have the owner access to all accounts. Sometimes this can be difficult if you’ve lost passwords or used an agency to create pages for you. But once you’ve got into all the accounts you can merge them.
When you merge the pages you can expect the following:
- The current Local Page will become archived and no longer available in search results
- A new local page will be created to consolidate the information from both profiles
- The new Google+ Local Page will display the hours, phone number & address
- Followers, posts, and users will be carried over.
- The Story and Link section will be removed
- Any reviews on the current Local Page will transfer to the new, however company responses to such – will not.
Once you have done this you can start optimizing your one profile and sharing some content on it. So, if a user does end up looking at your Google+ account.